Reflections on EVO (2009 and later)

My first professional blog

Multiliteracies: Microblogging

Posted by Mariel Amez on February 1, 2009

I started reading on this topic from the Multiliteracies Ning forum, which enabled me to take a look at Jennifer’s blogpost and the wiki that Claudia recommended.

Somehow, I got to this other interesting blog post, with links, experiences and suggestions, and that led me to a teacher’s account of an experience with Twitter in the classroom, including quotes from students, before reading Vance’s.

The article Microblogging and Relevancy mentions

it could be argued that if information is not provided to students in a meaningful way, the students may or may not really grasp or understand the intention of the instructor.

This should be a paramount consideration. I dare say all my sts use text messaging, but I wonder how many are acquainted with Twitter. It is a fact many of them barely use their email account, and do not blog for personal reasons. So I believe we should tread softly, so as not to overwhelm them with technology. As Alan Lew puts it,

I think I had a higher number of student drop my university class last semester when they saw all the social software things I was going to introduce in the class. It worked for those who stayed with me (…)

After all this “reading about”, I felt it was time to have the hands-on experience, so I signed up for Twitter and started following some of the people here.

I’m stopping now. If you keep track of my contributions today, you’ll find I have been at it for 7 hours non-stop. I really need to get down to some housework…

3 Responses to “Multiliteracies: Microblogging”

  1. Why don´t you add your twitter widget to this blog like that we can all follow you? I am a Twitter fan and have learned so many thinks in the last months thanks to social networking from friends all over the world. It is just amazing that all this happens with only 140 characters.
    My twitter ID is jenverschoor let`s start an Argentine conversation.
    Regards
    Jennifer

  2. mamez said

    I tried to follow your advice, Jennifer, but I’m not too pleased with the result.
    I may try later.
    Thanks!

  3. Thanks for the link to my blog. I have not tried Twitter yet in my classes. I think it has potential for the right class — I just don’t know that I have that class yet. I have been using Ning.com in all my recent classes, which students seem to like. — Cheers, Alan

Leave a Reply

 
