Reflections on EVO (2009 and later)

My first professional blog

Week 1 2010: PLNs

Posted by Mariel Amez on January 12, 2010

I think I started reading Vance Steven’s post about four hours ago, and I had decided to go straight ahead to Pegrum’s chapter to make my first post for Multiliteracies 2010 , but, just like Vance describes in Reflections on how we learn through networks, with particular infotention to the multiliteracy of new media (which I retweeted), I have done so many other things “in between” that here I am, overwhelmed already. So the “many lenses” will have to wait a while.

I got to that Posterous post through a comment made by Elizabeth on the Ning, and that allowed me to discover that you can retweet from Posterous. Kim Cofino’s extract mentioned by Vance, where a number of strategies to start your PLN are outlined, was somehow linked to a promotional email I received in the meantime, which I believe can be useful for others:

Another email arriving more or less at the time led me to discover Spezify (which I retweeted as well), before I had finished reading the article Modeling Social Media in Groups, Communities, and Networks, started at some point before.

Looking for the source of Jennifer’s Using Text messaging in the ESL classrrom I stumbled upon a good site for teaching Romeo and Juliet (ideas and lesson plans), and somehow found myself searching for Hanna’s poll. And all along I was tagging pages on Delicious.

Conclusions?  PLNs or CoPs or whichever term we coin to call them are essential to find our way in the maze of resources available for professional growth these days. Just as it is essential to experience this quest for learning “in the flesh” and to enable students (especially those in teacher education) to do so during their in-service training. Which by the way is connected to what I mentioned in a lecture and in the final paper for the “Maestros en Tecnologias” course.

Echoes, echoes, echoes… And pipes more important than the content within them …

3 Responses to “Week 1 2010: PLNs”

  1. Goodness – this is so rich – I enjoyed listening to Kim Cofino.

  2. Welcome once again to Multiliteracies session. As a very active participant you have already showed us that you can manage information overload. This is a key ingredient for a multiliterate teacher.

    You can find more information about Romeo and Juliet in my Diigo account http://www.diigo.com/user/jenverschoor/romeo%20and%20juliet.

    Looking forward to learning and sharing together.
    Warm regards
    Jennifer

  3. nliakos said

    Found this using Spezify. Cool!

Leave a Reply

 
